Major Award

Hello, friends!  I’ve been a bit remiss in acknowledging a couple of bloggy award nominations I’ve received over the past few weeks.  I mention them, not because I want to toot my own horn, but because I’d like to draw your attention to the lovely bloggers who nominated me!  If you’re not following these gals already, well, what are you waiting for?  Get on that!

First up, Debbie over at Minnado’s House nominated me for a Sunshine Award.  Thanks, Debbie! Her blog is very cool– she AND her kids are talented makers and they’re always up to something fun!  Check her out!  To go with the Sunshine Award, there are a few questions…

Favorite color: ALL!  I love colors, especially bright ones, but if I MUST pick… I like apple green, robin’s egg blue, mustard, and gray.

Favorite animal: again, ALL!  I’m a massive dog lover, but I’m also a big fan of any kind of humorous animal– ducks, otters, penguins, chipmunks, goats… I could keep going and going and going…

Favorite number: 5

Favorite non-alcoholic drink: Coca-Cola (I know, I’m a disgusting person)

Facebook or Twitter: Facebook

My passion: my faith, my beloved Man Friend, my terrible hound, filmmaking

Getting or giving presents: Both!  I’m a bit of a crazy person around holiday times– I love to make or find gifts for my loved ones.  And who doesn’t like getting presents?!

Favorite Pattern: I’m a bit of a newbie, so I haven’t made that many patterns, but the Colette Ginger skirt comes to mind as it was the pattern that really got me hooked on sewing (thanks for Sunni for the sewalong!).   I felt like a magician when I was sewing it– everything came together so perfectly!
Favorite day of the week: Saturday!

Favorite flower: peonies (I carried with a bouquet of peonies and sweet peas when I was married– they’re my favorites!)

Favorite celebrity role model: Hmm, tough question.  I’d say women in comedy like Tina Fey, Kristen Wiig, and Amy Poehler who play roles that I can actually identify with sometimes (instead of just playing love interests, sidekicks, or eye candy).  I’ve also always been a huge fan of Frances McDormand and I loved Linda Hamilton in Terminator 2… seriously, name a cooler movie character than Sarah Connor!  Impossible.

OK, I’m supposed to name ten blogs to pass the award onto now… I know that many of these folks already have received the award, and maybe you already follow them, but here are some people whose blogs I love (in no particular order):

I was also nominated for a Liebster Award  by Lavender at Threadsquare and Amy at Sew Well.  Thank you, ladies!  They’re both gorgeous, amazing sewists whose FO’s fill me with a mixture of total amazement and blinding jealousy.  Follow them and hate them be amazed by them!

What have you guys been up to lately?  I’ve finished a couple of things, but I haven’t had the daylight/free time combo to snap some pics yet.  Hope to soon!

What else is new?  Anybody trying any exciting new techniques?  Or fancy new projects in the works?  The Mad Men dress reveal was so hot all-a-y’all made me sweat!  Great job, guys!  And it’s been super fun watching you OWOP participants put together sassy outfits!  In other bloggy news, Dibs finally has a mini-Dibs– congratulations!!  It’s all so exciting around here these days!!

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Major Award

  1. Thanks, girlfriend! I pulled up every one of those links, and tonight while my nail polish is drying I’m going to check them all out! ;-)

  2. Awh, thanks so much for the award! I really appreciate it.

    That was fun to read. My favorite celebrities are comedians… especially those funny ladies. Have you read Bossypants? I DIED laughing.

    I’m not familiar with a couple of those blogs, so I’m excited to check them out.

  3. I love reading these lists. I like your favourite colours – I don’t think I’ve seen you in anything mustard or apple green yet! Also looking forward to your new makes. There’s a few blogs I haven’t heard of there so I’ll check them out!

    • I have a UFO in a sort of parakeet-y green that I really want to wear, but can’t quite wrap my head around (a lined skirt with a vent– how do you DO that?!?!). I need to work more green into my wardrobe! :)

  4. Thank you for the kind words, I feel very un-cool sat here typing in my pyjamas. :)
    I liked reading your list and there are some new-to-me links there to look at. Have a good week, xx

  5. Ginger, you are a wonderfully semi loon of a Blogger, and i enjoy your blog, a lot! Keep em coming!! ;-)

  6. Jo

    Nice, I can relate to ALL colours and ALL animals being your favourite! lol! :) I have been given some awards too but I’m a bit shy/unsure of myself! I might have to put up a post like this sometime soon :) Lately I’ve been going crazy trying to figure out my fitting woes, it’s sapping all my streeeeength. lol :p

    • Yes, do one of these posts! I’d love to learn more about you! :)

      UGH… fitting… it’s the worst. I’m struggling with that right now, as well as how to make nice-looking darts. Mine always end up pointy, bubbly, or gross. Blech!

  7. Congrats!! Blog awards are fun! I forgot to answer my favorite celebrity in my sunshine award!! Oops! I think I got bored…. Hehe!

    I do like these posts because its always fun to discover a new blog or two. Thanks!

  8. Firstly, I REALLY HOPE the post title is taken from A Christmas Story’s leg lamp major award scene ;o) I could watch that movie every single day.

    Secondly, Sarah Conner is my movie HERO! For me, she is the ultimate fictional badass. She’s in a special box with Lisbeth Salander.

    Thirdly, and lastly, you are awesome! Reading this post was so fun!

    • It is from A Christmas Story– I want to live in that movie! It’s just soooo goood!

      I totally agree with you re: movie badasses. Go, tough ladies, go!

      Thanks so much, lady! Hope your week is going well!

  9. Ginger, you are sunshine the sunshine award!!! Thanks for sharing new blogs for me to check out, as I don’t know a few of those ladies. It’s time for me to read Bossy Pants already. Had all I could do not to read over a seatmates shoulder last summer on a flight. Derf… it took me ages to wrap my head around the meaning of FO.

Leave a Reply

